Dress

I have spent today making a dress. I cut out all the pieces earlier in the week so I could get straight into the sewing this morning. The pattern is New Look 6824.  The bodice is fully lined, I thought this would be really difficult, but it was actually easier than I was expecting and fun to see it coming together as the bodice. I have been sewing for years, but haven’t made any clothes from a pattern since I was a child with a lot of help from my mum, I really enjoyed making this dress and can’t wait to find some fabric for the next one. The pattern can be made up in lots of different ways so I will get a lot of use out of it.

I found the instructions really easy to follow and the dress came together really well. I decided to sew the zip in by hand so I could use different threads for the blue and white sections. I am really pleased with how this worked.

I have bought a red belt to add some colour to the outfit, I think it looks great with my red shoes as well.

11 Comments on “Dress”

  1. Kate says:

    Zoe, this is just gorgeous. I love the fabric and the style of dress suits you perfectly. It looks completely professional!!!

  2. Roisin says:

    Aw, Zoe – this looks fab! I’m very tempted to get hold of this pattern and have a go myself. The colour is stunning on you, well done! x

    • Zoë says:

      You should get this pattern, there are so many options and it isn’t too difficult to make, well not the options I picked anyway!

  3. Caroline says:

    Oh wow – I’ve already said I love the dress, but had to comment here to point out that the belt is adorable!! xx

  4. Alysa says:

    I can vouch that it looked gorgeous on – and I’m so impressed that you did the zip by hand! PLus kudos to Mr Zoe for picking the belt :)

  5. […] 2 August 2010 by Kate At the book club meeting on Wednesday, Zoë wowed us all with her beautifully made dress. I thought would share her post with all you sew make believers. I have spent today making a dress. I cut out all the pieces earlier in the week so I could get straight into the sewing this morning. The pattern is New Look 6824.  The bodice is fully lined, I thought this would be really difficult, but it was actually easier than I was expecting and fun to see it coming together as the bodice. I have been sewing for years, but haven’t made any clothes from a pattern since I was a child with a lot of help from m … Read More […]

  6. Sue says:

    I love this dress and I’m so impressed with your hand sewn zip – it’s so neat! The fabric is perfect for the pattern and the belt just finishes it off. New Look must have improved; in the past their instructions were poor and it put me off buying their pattersn but I would certainly have a go at this one!

  7. […] Take Two I made a second version of my dress a couple of weeks ago. I had originally planned to just make a start on it, but ended up finishing […]

  8. […] will probably take my blue spotty dress as well. I need one more outfit, I will look in the charity shops a couple more times before looking […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers